The executive committee is comprised of four founding members and one ad hoc position that rotates annually. The institute operates in a fully collaborative way. Its responsibilities include research collaboration, communication evaluation, budget oversight and reporting.

Our executive committee members include:

Our team

Our scientists are interested in researching evolutionary cellular biology. We are collaborative, so our projects involve a minimum of two complementary areas of expertise.

Our team members include:

Advisory groups

External advisory committee members

Shelly Copley
Professor, University of Colorado-Boulder

Nels Elde
Associate Professor, University of Utah

Lillian Fritz-Laylin
Assistant Professor, University of Massachusetts

Purificación López-García
Professor, Paris-Sud University

Patricia Wittkopp
Professor, University of Michigan

Internal advisory committee members

Our internal advisory committeehelps the institute to engage as many Arizona State University researchers as possible, where many of the educational activities take place. Members also play a key role in evaluating ongoing research, outreach and educational activities and in prioritizing new research projects.

Po-Lin Chiu
Faculty Member, Biodesign Center for Applied Structural Discovery
Assistant Professor, School of Molecular Sciences

Jay Taylor
Associate Professor, Biodesign Center for Mechanisms of Evolution
Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences

Stephanie Forrest
Director, Biodesign Center for Biocomputing, Security and Society
Professor, School of Computingand Augmented Intelligence

Gillian Gile
Associate Faculty, Biodesign Center for Fundamental and Applied Microbiomics
Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences

Rizal Hariadi
Faculty Member, Biodesign Center for Molecular Design and Biomimetics
Assistant Professor, Department of Physics