John Chaput, CEMI, has been selected as a Faculty Achievement Awards recipient for the category “Defining Edge Research in Natural Sciences/Math”.  He will be honored at the Faculty Excellence Awards ceremony on Friday April 18th from 3:30 – 5:30.
John Chaput, CEMI, received a 3-year NASA grant totaling $575,067.  Title of project:  “The Emergence of Protein Folds.”

John Chaput has been recognized as having one of the top stories of 2012 by Discover Magazine for his work on artificial DNA, called XNAs. (Link.)

John Chaput and his colleagues have been recognized for the first genome-wide investigation of cap-independent translation, identifying thousands of mRNA sequences that act as Translation Enhancing Elements. (Link.)

• John Chaput has been featured in a recent episode of "Through the Wormhole" with Morgan Freeman on the Science Channel.


Adam Orr, Kumar Lab, CEMI, is the recipient of the “Joyce Foster Larson Scholarship” in recognition of his academic achievements in SoLS. The awards committee was particularly impressed with his work in the Kumar Lab in the Center for Evolutionary Medicine and Informatics.  He will receive a $570 scholarship.


Jason Wulf, CEMI and IT, passed the test and was board approved for the CISA (Certified Information Systems Auditor).


Ye lab PhD candidate, Jiayu Zhou, offered position at Samsung Research in San Jose, California starting spring 2014.


Former Kumar Lab undergraduate researcher Vanessa Gray has been recognized for her current work as an Amgen Scholar at University of Washington under Douglas Fowler. (Link.)


Postdoctoral Research Associate Kartik Temburnikar is the recipient of a 3-year Simons Foundation Fellowship to investigate TNA as a candidate RNA progenitor.


Undergraduate scholars Stephanie Tate and Oscar Murillo have been both awarded travel awards for the 2013 SMBE conference, from SMBE and IMSD respectively.


Sudhir Kumar has been awarded the title of Regents' Professor for the School of Life Sciences of Arizona State University. (Link.)

Sudhir Kumar has been named Editor-in-Chief of the journal Molecular Biology and Evolution for the years 2013 to 2017.

Sudhir Kumar has been named President of the Society of Molecular Biology and Evolution for the years 2012 to 2014.


Ananias Escalante has been recognized for his international work on researching the evolution and diversity of the malaria parasite. (Link.)


Reed Cartwright and his colleagues at Arizona State University, Washington University and the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute at Cambridge, UK, have developed a new software tool called DeNovoGear, which uses statistical probabilities to help identify mutations and more accurately pinpoint their source and their possible significance for health. (Link.)